Ethanhaaswasright.com ’s viral marketing of JJ Abram’s Cloverfield

Prepare yourself for an eerie true story. My friend Adam Spencer and I were discussing the strange mysterious trailer that appeared before Transformers the day after Adam saw it on Tuesday July 3rd 2007. Adam did some research on the web and discovered the title was “Cloverfield” and a website that apparently had something to do with the film www.ethanhaaswasright.com via a post on penny-arcade.com . The website was interesting to say the least. A sphere opens to reveal a puzzle in the foreground accompanied by a gloomy dark skyline which has 2 glowing stars. If you mouse-over one star, an alien alphabet is revealed. If you click on the second star, it opens your email program (usually Outlook by default) Adam sent an email to van@ethanhaaswasright.com with a default subject: I’m one of you…help me! Minutes later Adam was sent an auto response email which said:

“I think i’m safe, for now. Wherever I go it isn’t long before they find me. It seems The Mezin are connected to every aspect of humanity, from culture and religion to our most advanced technology. I have to be careful contacting all of you. When I began I thought I could safely speak about his writings and perhaps save us all….”

The letter goes on to say that others have been seeking an answer…

Anyhow, Adam solved all 5 puzzles and thought nothing of it…until today. A young man entered our office asking if Adam Spencer worked here. Adam went downstairs to meet a 20 something average looking male. He told Adam that a man offered him $5 to deliver this letter to a person named Adam Spencer and pointed to our office building. This is a scan of the letter:

(click to enlarge)

Adams letter

Please digg this post here.

*edit***************

Adam’s signature contained his office address, so this is how the person on the other end knew it.

12 Responses to “Ethanhaaswasright.com ’s viral marketing of JJ Abram’s Cloverfield”

  1. […] If you want to see an original scan of the letter go to here: http://blogs.ci-fi.net/chaf/archives/114 […]

  2. Looks quite a bit like an acrostic to me, just can’t work out what it means!

  3. wow, that movie looked amazing to begin with, and i thought the two marketing websites were neat… J.J. ABRAMS IS GOING ALL OUT!

  4. That’s awesome, but the ethanhaas site has been proven to be a viral campaign for an upcoming videogame, not JJ’s movie.

  5. “upcoming videogame”

    Table-top RPG, not videogame.

  6. Well, a video game would be the next logical step. I wouldn’t rule that out… yet…

  7. I love it.

  8. ITS NOT A VIDEO GAME… ITS A TABLE-TOP GAME IN LIKENESS TO DnD… midstormlabs.com see for yourself

  9. who the hell plays tabletop rpgs. they are sure going to alot of trouble for a freakin tabletop rpg. i dont think the game is real. there is not enough fan base to support all these programmers and developers for these sites for a game that is played on paper and in a rule book, maybe MAYBE if it was a computer game i could see them using their available resources but this is supposedly a RPG based pretty much entirely on imagination. the description at mindlabs says there are no levels or classes you can make your own armor and your own vehicles your own weapons AKA IMAGINARY PLAY DATE why is the ‘mindstorm labs’ website more fake looking and cheaper looking, its the most chincy website out of all the ethan haas. therefore it is not the movie that is fake, its the imaginary rpg that is fake. have you ever heard of the magicians term of MISDIRECTION? you are falling for it. misdirection and then you turn around and omg look i missed the whole darn thing cuz i thought it was this rpg where you imagine whatever you want. an rpg that noone gives a crap about. thanks !

  10. “have you ever heard of the magicians term of MISDIRECTION?”

    Do you TRULY believe that the puppetmasters behind all of this were planting evidence of Mind Storm Labs and Alpha Omega all the way back as early as January, for some online promotion that wasn’t launching until July?

    Isn’t the far more likely explanation that MSL and AO are real?

  11. I would say that mind storm labs is the fake as I am a developer and no company in there right mind would design a page with this in mind :
    This website is optimized for screen resolution of 1280px x 1024px and above.

  12. I solved all the puzzles at the ethanhaaswasright website and put in my email address. It said I would get an email on Aug. 1. But I think my spam blocked may have deleted it, unless they haven’t sent it yet.

    I’m so unsure, but my new sole reason for living is to figure out this mystery. I live to be marketed to. I must know, I must recieve the email.

Leave a Reply

Packaged by Edublogs - education blogs.

Bad Behavior has blocked 15 access attempts in the last 7 days.

FireStats icon Powered by FireStats